Clearing Unwanted Shifts

Creating shifts and schedules with NimbleSchedule is easy and hassle-free. No matter if you decide to use the “Copy To Next Week” option, the templates system or to repeat a single shift by using various patterns, the goal is the same – to somehow automate the schedule creation which repeats on any reasonable pattern. However, clearing a schedule, which you perhaps created by mistake, or you simply need to re-create it for any other reason, may sometimes cause a headache. Here are some simple ways you can use to easily remove an unwanted schedule or shift, either for everyone at a single location or for a specific person with multiple shifts.

The “Clear Schedule” option in the Tools menu

The 'Clear Schedule' option in the Tools menu

When using this option, you can easily clear the whole schedule, no matter if it consists of published or unpublished shifts for all your employees at a single location. Depending on the schedule view you’re using (daily, weekly or monthly), this option will erase the schedule for either just one day, one full week or for the whole month. Hence, this option is to be used with some caution when using wider date ranges in order to make sure not to erase the group of shifts that you actually need.

The “Clear Schedule” option next to your employee’s name

The 'Clear Schedule' option next to your employee’s name

In cases when you do not want to erase the schedule for all employees at your location, you can use the “Clear Schedule” option which shows up next to your employee’s name in order to cover just that specific employee. By using this feature, the system will erase the full schedule for your given employee starting from the current date and going forward. This means that if you are working in the weekly view of the schedule, this option will not just erase the schedule for a given employee for the week you are reviewing, but for any date range starting from the actual current date and going forward. This feature will skip any past shifts, meaning that the work history will be kept for your respected employees.

Deleting a single shift

Deleting a single shift

For the most basic activities, you can use the “Delete” option, which shows up on the shift dialog once you click on a specific shift. Instead of mentioning it first, we left this approach for the end. While it may be great for removing just a couple of shifts, this option may be somewhat complex when handling removal of a large number of shifts.

Karin Jakovljevic

About the author

Karin Jakovljevic

Karin Jakovljevic is the head of marketing at Ximble, a powerful, cloud-based workforce management system, simplifying employee scheduling and time tracking for retailers, restaurants and small businesses.

Success Stories

Case Study: Property Management

Discover how Ximble helped Armstrong Property Management optimize scheduling, improve time tracking, and integrate with existing software.

Case Study: Urgent Care

Read how Montefiore needed a user friendly employee self-management solution that supported multiple locations and integrations.

Case Study: Restaurant

How did Rudy’s Pub & Grill tackle managing multiple locations over multiple devices, while increasing employee access to shift availability?

Case Study: Customer Services

Effectively scheduling a global workforce across multiple time zones with ease requires a dynamic approach. So how did Ximble help Touch Support?

Try Ximble for 14 days free

No credit card required. Cancel any time.

close close
close close